HDR photography??

13 Oct

As I have earlier on stated, I am a serious photography enthusiast. I love photography as an art, and as much as I may not be a photographer (yet) I believe that I will support the art no matter what.

HDR Photography (High Dynamic Range Photography) is a beautiful form of photography. In a way, it is very complicated, and to what I have now been made to understand, requires a lot of learning and patience to get it right. There are few photographers who I have really marveled their work, especially ones including HDR . One of them is Mutua Matheka. Who also doubles up as a Kenyan .

Here is his Really beautiful Nairobi Sunset HDR. Make sure you visit his blog, and flickr page to check out the rest.


Mutua Matheka's Nairobi Sunset. ( A recent Shot)

Any ways, back to what I was saying. I have been dying just to know what HDR is. So weeks ago I started digging. Well, I found out some really cool and interesting stuff about it. It is a field that is still growing, and I would so totally urge any photographer to try it out. In the same spirit of adventure, I asked myself,

“Hey, why not try out this HDR, I mean, it seems cool and all.”

which I did, but trust me, it is not as easy as you may think it is. That is why I salute all the photographers who do this form of art. Sooooo, to make a long story shot, I went ahead and “tried” HDR. With only one photo. I used an image I got several months back when I was walking along the railway in Bungoma, trying to fulfill my photographic desires. The image was taken by a not so cool Camera (pfffft, atleast I got one, now that is something to be happy about 🙂 )It was a 5.1M.P Camera. One I was got for by my dad during Highschool.-I could swear I was the coolest cat around-At that time I did not even know what exposures were!!. So later on I kinda figured how to simulate an exposure in photoshop and decided to give HDR a try.

Its been so cool just trying this. I will grow in this sector one time.

And be sure to comment and critique and Correct. Help a brother grow.!!

Here’s my initial photo. the one above,…. and Here is My HDR “trial”

Let me know what you think.

2 Responses to “HDR photography??”

  1. mutuamatheka October 15, 2010 at 5:37 am #

    You are quite bold to post your first attempt, that is good.
    On the photo, it is good but it looks unfinished to me. The non-hdr looks more finished because of it’s capture of the shadows and contrast. I would encourage doing hdr but don’t stop at photomatix, tune your photo some more to create what you saw on the site or what you felt shooting that. Color, contrast, all important stuff overall.
    Good start, because from here you can only get better if you keep at it

    • John Ochuro October 19, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      Wow, thank you. 🙂 I’ve Kinda been learning one or two things all along. I will definitely take time to learn more and add more processes. I also learned about the Noise reduction on the site. I think I tried it on my next image. I am really grateful that you stopped by to give thoughts to this. Thank you once more. And you can always check out to see what I post a little here and there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

